Old ® Games4theworld Forum / Archive
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

External storage...what to pick?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

External storage...what to pick? Empty External storage...what to pick?

Post by Guest Sun 29 Sep 2013, 02:03

A few months ago I lost my hard drive....I mean the drive failed.  Luckily it was under warranty and was replaced, however the loss of data was not easily replaced.  My music, stories ( I am a writer ), and my games. 

So what I am interested in is suggestions and opinions on what kind of backup would be best.  I am interested in reliability over speed.  Now I have a dvd burner but for large files that won't work....for example and specifically when I download all the Sims 3 files again.  Things I have looked at for ideas are flashdrives of various sizes, an actual external hard drive, blu ray burner.  Price is a concern but would not necessarily be the deciding factor....like if flashdrives are going to be as secure and reliable as a blu ray burner and buying 4 of them would cost less than a blu ray burner plus the media...then I would go the flashdrives.

I am hoping for suggestions and opinions based on what you use.....brand names, horror stories, best price, reliability, ease of use.  I would say that at the very upper limit I am looking to store maybe around 100gig.  That would be games (again mostly all the sims 3 stuff), some stories, music, maybe a couple movies.

Any input is appreciated.

Back to top Go down

External storage...what to pick? Empty Re: External storage...what to pick?

Post by Guest Sun 29 Sep 2013, 20:31

I like WD Passport. It is reliable and durable.

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Sun 29 Sep 2013, 23:09