Old ® Games4theworld Forum / Archive
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Torch Browser & Start.me

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Torch Browser & Start.me Empty Torch Browser & Start.me

Post by Guest Sat 19 Aug 2017, 00:14

I have Torch Browser installed on my laptop and I've had it for years without issue. A few weeks ago, I noticed a thin called start.me when opening a new page. I've tried uninstalling it and reinstalling it, but to no avail. The reason I use Torch is because it has a media grabber (I could download videos - music videos automatically convert to .aac files) and a torrent downloader. 

How do I:

a) Get rid of start.me
or
b) Find a program that downloads torrents and media grab.

Help

Back to top Go down

Torch Browser & Start.me Empty Re: Torch Browser & Start.me

Post by Guest Sat 19 Aug 2017, 00:40

Hey, Very Happy

I'm no expert so I actually had to google the start.me thing, since I thought it was similar to when my chrome was infected with a malware (changing the home page). And apparently that's the default start up page now for Torch. Do ignore this post though if you actually know about this. Haha. This was mentioned at the support page (start.me)

Code:
How do I remove start.me?
Disable start.me by right-clicking on the start.me icon in the top and selecting "Hide in Torch".
Someone also mentioned that they had to revert back to an older version (55.0.0.12137) to make the start.me disappear completely. Alas, I have no idea about the second one. I've been using Freemake Video Converter to download things off Youtube though, and it looks like it supported a couple of other sites but I doubt it'll be useful. 

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Sat 19 Aug 2017, 00:46

Thanks, I didn't know that (about start.me). I'll try Freemake and see how it goes but I still need a way to download torrents.

Back to top Go down

Post by Guest Sun 20 Aug 2017, 11:34