Old ® Games4theworld Forum / Archive
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Cannot install Base Game - Error Message. [SOLVED]

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Cannot install Base Game - Error Message. [SOLVED] Empty Cannot install Base Game - Error Message. [SOLVED]

Post by Guest Tue 16 Feb 2016, 01:16

Hello,

I successfully downloaded the .rar file on Pirate Bay using uTorrent, and then I extracted the files using 7zip. I also disabled Windows Firewall. I use the free version of Malwarebytes and I tried to find an option to disable it but I couldn't find one, so I assume it's not getting in the way. I use Windows 10. I use Classic Shell because I hate the interface.

Disclosure: This is my FIRST attempt at torrenting, so I'm sorry if this is super basic but the help would be so appreciated!!

The problem: While in 7zip I am looking at the contents of the base game folder (because that's the only way I can look at the contents of the .rar file, not sure if that's normal or not), The Sims 3, and as the installation guide instructs, I click on the file 'Sim3Setup.exe' to get the installation started. A window very briefly flashes (so I don't know what it is exactly), then I am prompted to allow Electronic Arts to make changes on my computer, then a small window pops up with the following text and a red and white X next to it:

>SetupNew\setup.cpp (140)
PAPP:
PVENDOR:
PGUID:
$15. 0 . 0. 498  **no spaces between the dots and the numbers but this site turns them into smiley faces lol**
@Windows Vista Service Pack 0 (9200)
IE Version: 9.11.9600.17801

Any help at all is so appreciated!! Thank you! 

Cannot install Base Game - Error Message. [SOLVED] KvCX0z2

*I've got a screenshot of the error message attached to this post.

Last edited by callmeunicorn on Tue 16 Feb 2016, 06:56; edited 1 time in total

Back to top Go down