Old ® Games4theworld Forum / Archive
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Windows 8.1 ISO - install without burning to DVD?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Windows 8.1 ISO - install without burning to DVD? Empty Windows 8.1 ISO - install without burning to DVD?

Post by Guest Thu 28 Aug 2014, 03:15

Hi,

I currently still have Windows XP (I know, I know).  I have downloaded the ISO for the 8.1 Windows. 

Is it possible to install 8.1 without burning the ISO to a DVD (I don't currently have one). 
And if so, how can I?

Thanks

Back to top Go down

Windows 8.1 ISO - install without burning to DVD? Empty Re: Windows 8.1 ISO - install without burning to DVD?

Post by Admin Thu 28 Aug 2014, 04:42

Hi there,

Welcome to the Forum!
I highly recommend using the DVD method.
It's also possible to do it via a USB stick though. I've never done that before (with Windows 8.1), so try this: http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windows-8/a/install-windows-8-usb.htm
Admin
Admin
G4TW RETIRED Adminator
GΛMΣ MΛƧƬΣЯ / Forum Founder
G4TW RETIRED Adminator GΛMΣ MΛƧƬΣЯ / Forum Founder

Windows version :
  • Windows 8
  • Windows 7

System architecture :
  • 32 bits (x86)
  • 64 bits (x64)

Male

Back to top Go down

Windows 8.1 ISO - install without burning to DVD? Empty Re: Windows 8.1 ISO - install without burning to DVD?

Post by Guest Thu 28 Aug 2014, 20:20

Hello,
For ISO files, i'm usually using this:
1. Disable your "Hide extensions from known file types"
2. Change the .iso into .zip /.rar
3. Extract it
4. Search the .exe file and execute the program
5. ???
6. PROFIT!
Well, that's my usual trick... But, it's still "HIGHLY RECOMMENDED" to burn your data (for your safety)...
Hope it helps. Thanks before... Very Happy

Back to top Go down

Post by The_gh0stm4n Thu 28 Aug 2014, 20:44

MazETeR wrote:Hello,
For ISO files, i'm usually using this:
1. Disable your "Hide extensions from known file types"