Old ® Games4theworld Forum / Archive
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Question about PAL/NTSC Wii games and console...?

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Question about PAL/NTSC Wii games and console...? Empty Question about PAL/NTSC Wii games and console...?

Post by Guest Thu 27 Dec 2012, 06:44

I don't know if this is in the right thread, and Google isn't giving me useful information so I'm asking here.

I'm in Canada and I bought my Wii here, and I was thinking of getting a Doctor Who wii game that's only sold in the UK. In their description, it says "Please check whether your Wii system is compatible with PAL format before making the purchase." First of all, how can I check that? Second, if it won't work, do you think there is any way I can make it work like at all?

I'm not really good at this stuff, so I'll take all the help I can get right now. Thanks so much.

Back to top Go down

Question about PAL/NTSC Wii games and console...? Empty Re: Question about PAL/NTSC Wii games and console...?

Post by Guest Thu 27 Dec 2012, 15:26

If your system was bought in North America, it won't do PAL. If you can find a Japanese version you could probably use it - they use NTSC also. I don't have a Wii, so I don't know what modding tools are available, but for the PS2 they had NTSC<->PAL converters, so you might be able to find one for Wii also.

Back to top Go down

Question about PAL/NTSC Wii games and console...? Empty Re: Question about PAL/NTSC Wii games and console...?

Post by Guest Sun 06 Jan 2013, 14:36

There might be a chance to get it working, but the game may be in black
and white. I do have a Wii myself and I am from Canada too, from Quebec
actually. What you could is: hack your Wii and use either a usb loader,
or a DVD loader. I know NEoGamma is both, but I don't know if you can
change the settings to play a PAL game in NTSC mode, so that the game
would be in color.