Old ® Games4theworld Forum / Archive
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Installing Sims 3 and Expansions ON EXTERNAL HARDDRIVE

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Installing Sims 3 and Expansions ON EXTERNAL HARDDRIVE Empty Installing Sims 3 and Expansions ON EXTERNAL HARDDRIVE

Post by Guest Mon 20 May 2013, 15:22

Hellllllooo thereeeeee.

I'm an avid Sim'mer.
I've played them since I was little and have gone through so many discs it's crazy.
I've also installed The Sims 3 from your lovely site before, all without any traumas or issues I love you (Thanks for making it so easy! )
But, what I am new to is HOW MANY GB ALL THESE SIMS AND EXPANSIONS CONSUME! Not quite as small as ye' olde The Sims is it?! Razz

And this begs the question; how does one install these games and their expansions onto an external Hard-drive??

I'm fairly certain on how to Install it if it were from disc, but, when it comes too mounting the images and everything, I well suffice to say: Noob

Would you have any pointers on how to do this?
Keep in mind, I am technologically inept.

Sorry for being a bother.
Keep up the awesome work!

-Hemera
Hammertime

Back to top Go down

Installing Sims 3 and Expansions ON EXTERNAL HARDDRIVE Empty Re: Installing Sims 3 and Expansions ON EXTERNAL HARDDRIVE

Post by invalidusername Mon 20 May 2013, 17:39

Basically it's the same as installing to your internal harddrive. You just need to make sure that during the installation of the base game you change the drive you want it installed to. However, there are some downfalls to this. If you ever unplug your external, you have to make sure that when it's plugged back in, it is recognized as the same drive letter. Otherwise the game won't load up at all. Also, because of the extended data transfer, the game won't run quite as smoothly, or look as nice.
invalidusername
invalidusername
G4TW RETIRED Moderatrix
Discharged with Honors