Old ® Games4theworld Forum / Archive
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

The Sims 3 Complete trouble installing

View previous topic View next topic Go down

The Sims 3 Complete trouble installing Empty The Sims 3 Complete trouble installing

Post by Guest Thu 20 Jun 2013, 12:39

I have downloaded The Sims 3 Complete (OS X) and started following the instructions which said i had to download a Sims 3 add on from this site. I did this, i downloaded Sims 3 Showtime. I am now a little stuck, it seems i should install showtime before doing anything with the complete sims 3. However i can't seem to do this, i have created a dmg image with the showtime copied in. I then click on the sims3ep06setup.exe but it says the content cannot be extracted with this program. I have tried two different programs. Can anyone help me through this?

Sorry in advance if it is something really simple, i'm a bit new to this.
Thank you

Back to top Go down

The Sims 3 Complete trouble installing Empty Re: The Sims 3 Complete trouble installing

Post by Phoebe Thu 20 Jun 2013, 17:18

Hello and welcome!

At this point, I'd recommend you follow these steps:

1. First, delete the .dmg you've created.
2. Open the Showtime file that you've downloaded from here with StuffIt Expander (If you don't have, pleasen download from here) and extract the file on the desktop.
3. Now go to Applications/Utilities/Disk Utility. From the menu above select File/New/Disk Image from Folder.
4. Choose the file you copied over the desktop, name the .dmg and choose where want to put it(I recommend putting it on desktop again)
5. Wait until disk image is done. Then double click to open .dmg. The installiation of Showtime will pop-up.

It should work, but if not please let me know.
Phoebe
Phoebe
G4TW RETIRED Moderatrix
Discharged with Honors

G4TW RETIRED Moderatrix Discharged with Honors

Windows version :

System architecture :
  • 64 bits (x64)